KENTUCKY BOARD OF RADON SAFETY REGULAR MEETING MINUTES January 10, 2023

A regular meeting of the Kentucky Board of Radon Safety was held at the Department of Professional Licensing located at 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601 and via Zoom on January 10, 2023.

MEMBERS PRESENT DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

Chair Kyle Hoylman Kristen Lawson, Commissioner

Vice Chair Vance Walker Tasha Stewart, Administrative Section Supervisor

Bruce Fergusson Lisa Traylor, Board Administrator

Dr. Ellen Hahn
Gary Denton
Donald Karem

GUESTS OTHERS

Sarah Wilhoite DJ Wasson, Public Protection Cabinet

Lindi Campbell Olivia Mckown Hardin Stevens Chris Nolan Kristian Wagner Clay Hardwick Kyle Kuykendall Mike Mattox

CALL TO ORDER

Lisa Traylor sworn in Donald Karem as a non-voting board member.

Chair Hoylman called the meeting to order at 3:12p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chair Hoylman made a motion to approve the October 11, 2022 meeting minutes as presented. Dr. Hahn seconded with an admission to the meeting minutes to reflect that she asked for ten minutes to be set aside every meeting for public comments. All in favor, Roll call:

Bruce Fergusson - Yes

Dr. Ellen Hahn – Yes

Kyle Hoylman - Yes

Vance Walker - Yes

Motion carried.

OLD BUSINESS

Budget Proposal was sent to the cabinet, the cabinet asked for clarification and was resubmmited. Awaitng rereview. No action taken.

The Board reviewed a Statutory Requirements Notification. Vice Chair Walker made a motion to approve the Statutory Requirements Notification, Mr. Fergusson seconded the motion with the intent to provide notification on letterhead, put on the board website and provide to NRPP, NRSP, HBAK, KHDA, KPHA and the KREIA. All in favor, Roll call:

Bruce Fergusson - Yes

Dr. Ellen Hahn – Yes Kyle Hoylman - Yes Vance Walker - Yes Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

Chair Hoylman suggested that a complaints committee be formed and comprised of Mr. Fergusson for measurement complaints, Vice Chair Walker for mitagation and Chair Hoylman. Mr. Fergusson made a motion to form the complaints committee as suggested, Vice Chair Walker seconded. All in favor, Roll call:

Bruce Fergusson - Yes
Dr. Ellen Hahn – Yes
Kyle Hoylman - Yes
Vance Walker - Yes
Motion carried.

Vice Chair Walker made a motion to table all complaints until the formation of the complaints committee is completed, not to exceed 30 days for next steps and actions, Dr. Hahn seconded. All in favor, Roll call:

Bruce Fergusson - Yes

Dr. Ellen Hahn - Yes

Kyle Hoylman - Yes

Vance Walker - Yes

Motion carried.

Chair Hoylman shared with the board Govenor Beshear's Radon Action Month Proclamation, no action taken.

Mrs. Traylor informed the board that DPL will utilize Teams Drive for all meetings and that PPC emails must be checked atleast once to twice a week as all correspondances must and will be sent only to these emails. No action taken.

Chair Hoylman informed the board that the next meeting will be held on April 11th, 2023 unless a special meeting is called before. No action taken.

Dr. Hahn asked to make a motion to allow requests for public comments to be submitted to the Board of Radon Safety (BORS) five days or greater in advance, with additional guidance to be developed and published on the BORS website, Vice Chair Walker seconded. No vote was called.

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Vice Chair Walker to adjourn the meeting at 4:09p.m. Motion seconded by Dr. Hahn. All in favor, Roll call:

Bruce Fergusson - Yes

Dr. Ellen Hahn – Yes

Kyle Hoylman - Yes

Vance Walker - Yes

Motion carried.

Kyle Hoylman, Chair